Skip navigation

We made it to page one for our three target KW within about 6 months of me starting here (we came from page 20 so personally I don’t think we did too bad). But then our focus changed – inspired by a change in the seasons. Unfirtunately we didn’t start working on the new terms until the season was upon us and so even though our SERPs for this second batch of KW did improve drastically, it just wasn’t enough.

So now I am putting my focus back onto the original products….periphery terms if you like. See the thing is that I actually think these periphery terms hold more value to us than the original terms did (I think we got our KW research wrong). As always we won’t know for sure until we get great SERPs and then I can analyse the difference in traffic etc.

Back to the title then, this week I have mostly been updating text.

We have over 100 product pages (probably a lot more – I have never actually counted) each within categories. I am basically sorting through each product to increase the density of the specific keyword (rather than the more vague ones we were using before). At the same time I’m trying to keep in the vague terms so that we don’t slip in the SERPs for those.

Thing is – we have.

The main problem being that we made 2 or 3 relatively large changes around the same time so I don’t know what has caused the (slight but still more than I am happy with) drop. It could just be natural forces and competiton but I don’t think so…

I’m going to keep plodding on making text changes but I’m also going to keep a watchful eye on our original KWs. Hopefully it’s just a blip.

Leave a Reply

